Listen with Lear

To my surprise and delight, the enterprising folk at Cleis Press have done two of my novels as Audible Audiobooks. Obviously it would be better to have some obliging young man read the books aloud while you soak in the bath, sipping a cold martini or whatever else my thrill-seeking readers do, but this is a practical alternative. And I’m sure that narrator Daniel Carter has a voice like molten chocolate.You can currently get my country-house murder mystery The Back Passage and my American Civil War epic Hot Valley. I think it’s only in the US at the moment but I’ll keep you posted.

Meanwhile, some people have been asking whether this blog will see the return of the once-popular MySpace feature ‘Husband du Jour’, in which I cast an elderly roue’s eye over various pieces of talent, usually from the sporting, entertainment or military professions. And I feel the answer must be a resounding yes. So to get things off on the right foot, and to rid you of any hopes that I might be subtle, discerning or anything other than thuddingly obvious in my choices, let me admit that I have been ‘enjoying’ the deeply-nuanced performances of Taylor Lautner in the Twilight movies. When I saw a poster on the side of a bus recently advertising ‘Taylor Lautner abduction’ I thought it was a kind of themed weekend break, but sadly it was only a movie. Anyway, here he is in the key scene in New Moon, soaking wet and freshly barbered just for me.

Werewolf indeed. He’ll certainly howl when he sees my full moon.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

